Some of our
milestone moments

  • 1933

    Following the publication of a Royal Decree introducing mandatory technical inspections for buses and coaches in Belgium, Bureau Technique A.J. Halleux-Lemaire is among the first companies officially accredited by the government to take on the public service assignment of conducting technical inspections. In this way, Mr A.J. Halleux, founder of the Bureau, makes a significant contribution to the introduction of vehicle inspections in Belgium. At this time, only buses and coaches are required to be inspected.

  • 1938

    Creation of Autosécurité. Since then, the progressive introduction of technical inspections for various categories of vehicle has seen the company constantly evolve.

  • 1965

    Organisation of first tests for obtaining the right to drive.

  • 1968

    Following the introduction of mandatory periodic inspections for private cars more than 4 years old, the number of vehicles to be inspected increases considerably. The construction of new inspection centres enables this unprecedented demand to be met.

  • 1972

    Mr A.M. Halleux, son of the founder, takes over the reins of the company. International investments aimed at promoting programmes to align the policies associated with technical inspections and to protect the environment in the context of mobility.
    Mr Halleux contributes actively in the creation of CITA, the International Motor Vehicle Inspection Committee, of which he remains general secretary until he retires.

  • 1977

    Theory and practical tests become obligatory for all would-be drivers. Autosécurité is given the assignment of organising these tests.

  • 1987

    Through his strong will and commitment, Mr A.M. Halleux obtains Consultative Status, category II, for CITA with the United Nations and ECE.
    In Belgium, he continues his objectives with Autosécurité:
    - to keep improving the quality of the services provided;
    - to defend the third-party model in order to avoid conflicts of interest between the inspection of a vehicle and the potential benefit associated with carrying out repairs, as well as to ensure that driving schools are able to decide themselves what degree of preparation a candidate requires.

  • 1999

    ISO 9002 certification for vehicle inspection activities. Since February 2006, this certification has been extended to the sector for driving licences. This certification was confirmed again in 2016 by transition to the ISO 9001-2015 standard.

  • 2000

    Formation of a Management Board following the death of Mr A.M. Halleux. His wife, Arlette Lehyme, continues to chair the Board of Directors.

  • 2002

    Launch of a far-reaching partnership with Lebanon. Autosécurité provides its expertise enabling the implementation of a comprehensive technical inspection programme. 4 inspection centres are built in the country, including the one at Haddath, in Beirut, which becomes the largest in the world, with 22 inspection lines.

  • 2005

    Creation of the Autosécurité Call Centre service. Designed to limit waiting times for customers, Autosécurité offers a totally new appointments service, available online and by telephone. Autosécurité is the first Belgian company to offer this service. Since then, increasing numbers of inspections have become available by appointment. Both private and professional drivers can also manage their appointments online, via a VIP portal.

  • 2006

    Acquisition of all of the shares in CTA (Contrôle Technique Automobile). With 30 operating sites (20 inspection centres, 9 examination centres and a head office), Autosécurité extends its coverage to the province of Namur and to the two provinces of Brabant.

  • 2012

    Acquisition of the whole of the capital in BIA, another long-established inspection service, operating in the province of Hainaut. Autosécurité Group becomes the leading Belgian technical inspection and driving test operator, with a national market share in excess of 27% (more than 80% market share in Wallonia).

  • 2014

    Introduction of state-of-the-art software. Autosécurité modernises its practices and designs its own ‘EVI’ computer application.
    Transparency and traceability become the watchwords, making it possible to coordinate the various stages of technical inspections and to objectify results with customers, where necessary. A similar application, ‘TED’, is developed for the driving licence side of the business.

  • 2017

    Introduction of new services aimed at improving customer satisfaction and keeping them informed of Autosécurité news: sending out inspection notices to inspections by e-mail for companies with their own fleet of vehicles, a presence on social media, with official Autosécurité pages on Facebook and LinkedIn, etc.
    Acquisition of CTA by the AV/BTC Group.

QUELQUES
MOMENTS CLÉS

  • 1933

    Suite à la parution d'un Arrêté Royal introduisant en Belgique le contrôle technique obligatoire des autobus et autocars, le Bureau Technique A. J. Halleux – Lemaire compte parmi les premières entreprises officiellement agréées par le gouvernement pour assurer la mission de service public que constitue le contrôle technique. Ainsi Monsieur A. J. Halleux, fondateur du Bureau, contribue de façon marquante à la naissance de l’inspection automobile en Belgique. A cette époque, seuls les autobus et autocars sont concernés.

  • 1938

    Création d’Autosécurité. Depuis, l’introduction progressive du contrôle technique des différentes catégories de véhicules a fait évoluer l’entreprise de manière constante.

  • 1965

    Organisation des premiers examens de réintégration au droit de conduire.

  • 1968

    Suite à l’introduction du contrôle périodique obligatoire pour les voitures particulières à partir de 4 ans, le nombre de véhicules à contrôler s’accroît de manière considérable. La construction de nouvelles stations permet de rencontrer cette situation inédite.

  • 1972

    Monsieur A.M Halleux, fils du fondateur, dirige la société. Investissement au niveau international afin de promouvoir des actions visant au rapprochement des politiques liées au contrôle technique et à la protection de l’environnement dans le cadre de la mobilité.

    Monsieur Halleux contribue de façon active à la création du CITA, le Comité International de l’Inspection Automobile, dont il demeurera le secrétaire général jusqu’à sa retraite.

  • 1977

    Les examens théoriques et pratiques deviennent obligatoires pour chaque candidat conducteur. Autosécurité reçoit la mission d’organiser ces examens.

  • 1987

    A force de volonté et d’implication, Monsieur A. M. Halleux obtient, pour le CITA le Statut Consultatif, catégorie II, auprès des Nations Unies et de ECE.

    En Belgique, avec Autosécurité, il poursuit ses objectifs :

    • accroître en permanence la qualité des services prestés,
    • défendre le modèle de la tierce partie afin d’éviter les conflits d’intérêts entre l’examen d’un véhicule et le bénéfice potentiel lié à l’exécution des réparations, mais aussi pour que les écoles de conduites puissent décider elles-mêmes du degré de préparation d’un candidat.
  • 1999

    Certification ISO 9002 pour les activités d'inspection automobile. Depuis février 2006, celle-ci a été étendue aux activités du secteur permis de conduire. Cette certification a été confirmée une fois encore en 2016 par le passage à la norme ISO 9001-2015.

  • 2000

    Formation d’un Comité de Direction suite au décès de Monsieur A.M Halleux. Son épouse, Arlette Lehyme, conserve la présidence du Conseil d’Administration.

  • 2002

    Lancement d’un large partenariat avec le Liban. Autosécurité apporte son savoir-faire permettant la mise en œuvre d’un programme complet de contrôle technique. 4 stations d’inspection y sont construites, dont celle de Haddath, à Beyrouth, qui devient la plus grande au monde, avec ses 22 lignes d’inspection.

  • 2005

    Création du service Call Center Autosécurité. Afin de limiter le temps d’attente de sa clientèle, Autosécurité propose un tout nouveau service de rendez-vous, disponible par internet ou par téléphone. Autosécurité est la première société belge à offrir ce service. Depuis, de plus en plus en de contrôles sont devenus disponibles sur rendez-vous. Les particuliers et professionnels peuvent également gérer leurs rendez-vous en ligne, via un portail VIP.

  • 2006

    Rachat de la totalité des parts de CTA (Contrôle Technique Automobile). Avec 30 sites d’exploitations (20 stations d’inspection, 9 centres d’examens et son siège central), Autosécurité étend désormais sa zone de compétence à la province de Namur et aux deux provinces de Brabant.

  • 2012

    Acquisition de la totalité du capital du BIA, autre opérateur historique actif dans la province de Hainaut. Le Groupe Autosécurité devient le premier opérateur belge tant pour le contrôle technique que pour le permis de conduire, avec plus de 27 % de parts de marché au niveau national (plus de 80 % de parts de marché au niveau wallon et 7 % de parts de marché en Flandre).

  • 2014

    Mise en place de nouveaux logiciels à la pointe. Autosécurité modernise ses pratiques et conçoit sa propre application informatique ‘EVI’.

    Transparence et traçabilité en sont les mots d’ordre : celle-ci permet de coordonner les différentes étapes du contrôle technique et d’objectiver, au besoin, les résultats auprès des clients. Une application similaire, ‘TED’ est développée pour l’activité du permis de conduire.

  • 2017

    Mise en place de nouveaux services afin d’améliorer toujours plus la satisfaction de ses clients et les tenir informés de ses actualités : envoi de convocations par email pour les entreprises disposant de leur propre flotte de véhicules, présence sur les réseaux sociaux avec les pages officielles Facebook et LinkedIn ‘Autosécurité’, nouveau numéro de téléphone spécialement dédié à notre clientèle néerlandophone…

    Acquisition de CTA par le groupe AV/BTC.